Recipes

Kale Yay! Healthy Green Smoothie Lemonade!

Look at that amazing color!

Look at that amazing color!

So this morning I was feeling a little low in energy.  Didn’t sleep well and then our new puppy decided 5:30 am was a prefect time to get up!  I thought what could I do to perk myself up and also nourish my sleep deprived body!  Well I have tons of kale growing in the garden, some lemons, ginger in the fridge and organic cukes from the farmers market.  How bout I take all those and throw them into the Blendtec and see what comes out?  Let me tell you DELISH! This is not some fru-fru, fruity drink that makes you think you are getting a green smoothie down, this is the real deal.  Loaded with tons of greens, nourishing and detoxing lemons, great fiber and stomach soothing ginger!  It’s like eating a refreshing salad in a glass.

Here’s what I did!

Kale Yay!  Lemonade

5 Large Kale Leaves

1/2 a large cucumber peeled

1/2 of a lemon, peel, seeds and all

1 granny smith apple, seeds and stem removed  (any apple will do)

 1 to 2 celery ribs

grated ginger or 1/2 inch ginger knob

16 OZ of filtered water, you can add more water if you like then thinner.

Place everything in a high-speed blender and blend away.  I keep large knob’s of ginger in the freezer and just grate what I need with a microplane.  I never used enough before it went back and this is a great trick.  I do this with Turmeric too!  I added a couple of ice cubes when I was done to make it nice and cold.  It may have been the beautiful green color or just the idea of having something healthy, but I was able to have a busy and productive day with clients all day and prepare for my group class tomorrow night.  I felt energized and ready to focus on my tasks.  This recipe serves 2.  I took the second part, in a mason jar, in the afternoon to work, to help with that mid afternoon slump!

Leave a Reply

